Teaching Degrees in California

California has numerous colleges and universities that offer teaching degrees and credentials to educators. San Diego State University, California State University-Sacramento, California State University-Fullerton, and University of California-Irvine are the largest in the state that offer programs in California teacher education. This article will highlight their education programs to help those seeking a California teacher license determine which university is right for them in California.

San Diego State University

San Diego State University’s College of Education is one of the largest teaching schools in California. The SDSU College of Education contains numerous specialized education departments. These include the School of Teacher Education, which specializes in the training of K-12 educators. It operates in a Block Model format, in which a block of approximately 30 students will share classes throughout the two- to three-semester program. SDSU also strongly emphasizes multicultural, research-based learning and offers apprentice programs within local schools.

California State University at Sacramento

The College of Education at California State University-Sacramento offers individual courses for California teacher certification through its Department of Teacher Education, as well as a full credential program utilizing a group system similar to that of SDSU. These grouped credential programs are offered for future K-8 teachers and prospective grade 7-12 teachers. Both programs normally take two or three semesters to complete.

California State University at Fullerton

California State University at Fullerton offers different levels of programs at its College of Education for students seeking a California teaching license. The credentials are divided into two tiers. The first tier provides general education for future K-12 teachers, and is sub-divided between the multiple subject credentials (grades K-8) and single subject credentials (grades K-12). The second tier offers advanced credentials, such as the Reading Specialist credential and the Professional Administrative credential, the latter of which is required for all administrators.

University of California at Irvine

University of California-Irvine offers a wide array of academic programs within its School of Education, from a minor in education at the undergraduate level to multiple credential programs and postgraduate degrees. In addition to the multiple subject credential for educators intending to teach on the K-6 level and the single subject credential for the 7-12 grade teachers, UC Irvine offers an administrative credential.